There are rules set down on what can do and can't do. Specifically there are rules in the Quran on what a Muslim can or can't eat. Things that are permitted are halal, whereas those things that are forbidden are haram.
Haram items include:
- Alcohol (and other methods of intoxication) , and all things related to alcohol, even if it is cooked into a meal. Thus, if you pick it, it will likely be a virgin tiramisu
- Pig and all pig products, such as pork, bacon etc, as well as gelatine
- Animals that have died a natural death. Thus animals need to be slaughtered in a proper way for the intention of food, and prayed upon, at that stage.
The basic principle is that all things created by Allah are permitted, apart from those listed above. Islam is considered a way of life with rules and manners governing every facet of a Muslim's life. Since food forms an important part of daily life, these laws carry a special significance. The life of a Muslim revolves around the concept of Halal. A Muslim must earn income from Halal sources, be involved only in Halal transactions and consume Halal food and drink.